14 countries now on PH’s red list until December 15 due to COVID-19 variant Omicron – Manila Bulletin

Fourteen countries are now on the country’s red list from November 28 to December 15 following reports of cases of the new Omicron variant of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), Malacañang announced on Sunday afternoon.


In a statement, Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles said the following countries were now on the Red List:

  1. South Africa
  2. Botswana
  3. Namibia
  4. Zimbabwe
  5. Lesotho
  6. Eswatini
  7. Mozambique
  8. Austria
  9. Czech Republic
  10. Hungary
  11. The Netherlands
  12. Switzerland
  13. Belgium
  14. Italy

The Interagency Working Group (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases has defined Red List territories as “high risk” based on the following parameters:

  • For populations greater than 100,000, the incidence rate should be greater than 500
  • For populations under 100,000, the number of COVID-19 cases must be over 500 and the rate of testing in the past 28 days per 100,000 population

Meanwhile, Hong Kong, despite the registration of three cases of the said variant, has been placed on the yellow list, and travelers from said territory will have to comply with the testing and quarantine protocols for the countries on the yellow list.

According to the acting Palace spokesperson, inbound travel of all persons from Red List territories, including those who have traveled there in the 14 days prior to their arrival in the Philippines, will not be permitted. .

Meanwhile, passengers already in transit and all those who have traveled to Red List countries within 14 days of arriving in the Philippines and will arrive before 12:01 am on November 30, 2021, will not be subject to this restriction. Entrance. However, they will have to undergo an institutional quarantine for 14 days with testing on the seventh day, regardless of their RT-PCR result.

On the other hand, passengers already arriving before November 28, 2021 and currently in quarantine will have to complete their respective testing and quarantine protocols.

Passengers simply transiting through Red List countries will not be considered to have been in that country if they have stayed at the airport the entire time and have not been allowed entry by its immigration authorities. They must adhere to existing testing and quarantine protocols.

Additionally, passengers from Green List territories will need to comply with testing and quarantine protocols for Yellow List countries. This will be the case until December 15, 2021.

Passengers arriving in countries before November 28, 2021 can still follow existing protocols for Green List countries.

On Friday afternoon November 26, Nograles said the Department of Health (DOH) and IATF were “actively monitoring” developments.

He added that the government is in constant communication with the World Health Organization (WHO) on this matter.



Previous The city with the highest theft rate of any state - 24/7 in Wall St.
Next Supreme Court of Idaho Consolidates Redistribution Card Lawsuits | Politics