County Council makes late changes to Commissioner’s District Map

By Brenda Erdahl

Wright County commissioners decided Tuesday, April 26, that redrawing two county commissioner districts was the right thing to do, but they weren’t all of the same mind.

The previous week the commissioners had no intention of touching district lines because for the first time since the 1970 census there was no need for them. According to the 2020 census, the county was within the parameters of the 10% rule that state redistricting must occur if one or more commissioner districts are more than 10% higher or lower than the average population of the five commissioner districts. .

But when they opened the public hearing to what they thought was a non-debate, they were met with a cogent argument from two residents, Tina Goede of Otsego and Jillian Hendrickson of Albertville. They proposed moving St. Michael’s Wards 2 and 4 from District 3 to District 4 and moving Albertville from District 4 to District 3. They argued that Otsego had grown nearly 50% in the past 10 years and that more than half of St. Michael, which has had the second highest population growth in the county, is in the same district. They also pointed out that, as the lines sit, St. Michael is the only community in the county represented by two commissioners.

For more on this story, subscribe today!

Previous Housing supply in Ottawa not keeping up with population growth: report
Next BC surgical waiting list lower than 2020, still 88,000 - Surrey Now-Leader