Majority choose map #3 for redistricting

MONTICELLO – Last Thursday, the majority of lawmakers chose one map – called “Option 3” – as the preferred district plan for the next decade.

Legislators Robert A. Doherty, Michael Brooks, Nicholas Salomone, George Conklin and Alan Sorensen voted in favor, after speaking out against options 1 and 2. Legislators Nadia Rajsz, Luis Alvarez, Joseph Perrello and Ira Steingart voted in favor not accept any of the options, expressing a desire to extend the review period.

The 5-4 vote means all nine constituencies will change their boundaries to conform to the “Option 3” map on January 1, 2024. Mandated by law, the redistricting process aims to ensure that each legislative constituency represents a share roughly Sullivan’s equal. Population of the county, as guided by the last US census (2020).

Main Street Communications of Iowa was selected earlier this year to provide three proposed district maps for review. These maps were presented to lawmakers and the public in June. The effort was undertaken this year in order to give voters and potential candidates for the county legislature ample time to understand the new boundaries. Detailed maps are available at

Previous Gutmann College House tops list of building name changes and renovations on campus
Next South Korea has lowest birth rate and record deaths in 40 years