New Magistrate District Map Approved by Fairfax Supervisors

FAIRFAX COUNTY, VA – A new master district map adopted by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday has little change, moving seven constituencies to other master districts.

The vote was the result of a redistribution process that began earlier this year to redesign the board of supervisors and school board districts in Fairfax County. Redistribution of local electoral districts is made mandatory by law every ten years after the United States census to ensure fair representation as populations change. This will not impact the state’s legislative and congressional districts, which are determined by the state.

The map adopted by the Supervisory Board was submitted by a member of the public with minor modifications. It maintains nine master districts, while some of the maps offered included 10 or 11 districts.

The changes will include:

  • Fort Buffalo district moves from Providence to Mason district
  • Penderbrook neighborhood moves from Providence to Springfield district
  • Part of Woodburn Precinct east of the Capital Beltway moves from Providence to Mason District
  • Irving neighborhood moves from Springfield to Braddock district
  • West Springfield neighborhood moves from Springfield to Lee District
  • Compton neighborhood moves from Sully to Springfield district
  • Saratoga neighborhood moves from Mount Vernon to Springfield district

Residents can see a detailed map here.

“Broad outreach in the redistribution process has been a long-standing priority for our Board of Directors and has produced a fair, non-partisan and transparent process,” President Jeff McKay said in a statement. “These small adjustments aim to accommodate population changes while minimizing disruption to the daily lives of our residents and keeping communities together.”

Springfield District Supervisor Pat Herrity voted against the redistribution order, commenting on the lack of public engagement.

“The plan that was approved ignored the preferred nine-district plan recommended by the Redistribution Advisory Committee (RAC) in the public process,” Herrity said in a tweet. “The approved plan has a significant impact on the Magisterial District of Springfield, but the adopted plan was neither released nor shared with me until the close of business the day before the vote, despite more than 70% of the changes in Springfield. [District]. “

Braddock District Supervisor James Walkinshaw noted that the population gap between districts with the smallest and the largest population is 4.58 percent, below the required 10 percent. The seven displaced districts are also three less than the last redistribution process in 2011.

“Politics and partisanship play no role in our redistribution process,” Walkinshaw said. “Throughout our work, the citizen-led committee, county staff and most of my colleagues focused on obeying the law and doing what was best for the people we represent, rather than recording anyone’s personal or political preferences on a map. “

The redistribution process was led by a 20-member redistribution advisory committee appointed by the supervisory board over the summer to recommend the proposed new maps. There were 24 proposed maps submitted by the committee, and 40 maps were submitted by the public. The committee reviewed the current 64 maps and 247 constituencies in the county, producing a final report to the Supervisory Board. The supervisory board then held a public hearing on the redistribution on November 7.

According to the 2020 census data included in the committee’s report, here are the population counts of the current main districts:

  • Braddock: 125 180
  • Dranesville: 127,980
  • Hunter Mill: 129,651
  • Lee: 124,377
  • Mason: 119 417
  • Mont Vernon: 130,320
  • Providence: 139,267
  • Springfield: 122,623
  • Sully: 132,050

After the adoption by the Board of Supervisors of a new local electoral map, it will be submitted to the Attorney General of Virginia for certification. Upon review, district changes will take effect immediately. The estimated date for the changes to take effect after state certification is February 20, 2022.

The Supervisory Board also extended the work of the commission to the evaluation of the names of magistrates’ districts. This raises the question of the name of the Lee District, which refers to Confederate General Robert E. Lee. The Fairfax County School Board renamed Robert E. Lee High School in Springfield to John R. Lewis High School in 2020. Separately, a Confederate Names Task Force appointed by the Supervisory Board recently recommended renaming Lee Highway. and Lee-Jackson Memorial Highway. The Redistribution Advisory Committee is responsible for reporting on name ratings after March 1, 2022.

Previous Global Energy Efficient Windows Market (2021-2026)
Next Utah population growth 2021: fertility is falling, but migration is on the rise