Seychelles removed from list of countries not allowed to enter Australia

Seychelles has been removed from the list of countries whose residents are not allowed to enter Australia over concerns over the COVID-19 variant Omicron, which has not been detected in the island nation, the department said on Wednesday. tourism.

Confirmation of Seychelles’ removal from the list came on November 29 in a statement issued by the Australian Prime Minister’s office. The Omicron variant, which was first detected in South Africa, has also been detected in Australia and many other countries.

Foreign Affairs and Tourism Minister Sylvestre Radegonde welcomed the fact that Seychelles, an archipelago in the western Indian Ocean, has been removed from Australia’s list of concerns.

“Our Foreign Office intervened with our Australian counterparts immediately after receiving the opinion, the discussion of which led to a positive result,” said Radegonde.

“We have put in place very strict health measures for all arriving passengers required to provide proof of a negative result of the PCR test carried out 72 hours or less before leaving their country,” he said. for follow-up.

The minister added that passengers can only stay in establishments that have developed security protocols for their operational staff and guests and are COVID-safe certified by the Ministry of Health. People should wear face masks at all times in public places, ensure social distancing, and avoid congregating in groups.

“We have taken every measure to ensure the safety of our visitors and our own people, and visitors to Seychelles can make the most of their vacation and our destination with confidence,” said Radegonde.

Earlier this week, the Platinum Committee for the National Response to COVID chaired by President Wavel Ramkalawan announced that the Omicron variant had not been detected in the Indian Ocean islands.

Visitors from seven southern African countries – South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe – are not allowed into Seychelles until further notice.

In the revised travel advisory, all people already in Seychelles who have been to these countries in the past two weeks are required to take a PCR test if they have been in Seychelles five to 14 days after arrival. Those who have been in Seychelles for less than five days must wait until the fifth day of their stay to take the PCR test.

All Seychellois and returning residents to Seychelles who have visited any of the seven countries in the past two weeks are required to self-quarantine and take a mandatory PCR test on the fifth day after arrival.

The national airline, Air Seychelles, has canceled all flights from Johannesburg to Seychelles, except for flights on December 1, 7 and 19.

Previous Supervisors defend the ratification of a new district card
Next MS health insurance to cover telehealth at the same rate as in-person visits